Past Virtual Events

Past Discussion Sessions | Past Industry Updates | Upcoming Virtual Events

Click here to access APC's tips and tricks to navigating Zoom!


Past Discussion Sessions

Title: Northeast Regional Meeting 
Date: Friday, October 08, 2021
Time: 1:00pm ET / 12:00pm CT / 11:00am MT / 10:00am PT  
Sections: Especially for Northeast Members, but open to all APC members 

Event Recording: Click here to access the members-only webpage to view and listen to the recording 


Title: UMEDS Continued Conversation of “Diverse Voices” 
Date: Monday, October 4, 2021
Time: 
2:00pm ET / 1:00pm CT / 12:00pm MT / 11:00am PT  Duration: 1 hour
Sections: 
Open to all, especially UMEDS
Event Recording: Click here to access the members-only webpage to view and listen to the recording 
Led By: 
Robin LeGallo, MD, University of Virginia School of Medicine
Valerie Fitzhugh, MD, Rutgers New Jersey MS/Rutgers Robert Wood Johnson MS
Andrea Deyrup, MD, PhD, Duke University Medical Center 

Title: PRODS Spring 2021 Virtual Meeting- Updates & Unpacking

Date: Thursday, March 25, 2021
Time: 3:00pm ET / 2:00pm CT / 1:00pm MT / 12:00pm PT Duration: 2.5 Hours 
Sections: Open to PRODS & GMEAS Members ONLY 
Event Recordings: Click here to access the members-only webpage to view and listen to the recording 
Materials recommended to view beforehand: 
ACGME/Review Committee Update By Kate Hatlak, EdD, PMC, Executive Director
ABPath Update By Rebecca Johnson, MD, CEO

Event Description: In lieu of the traditional in-person meeting during the USCAP annual conference, PRODS Council is hosting its Spring 2021 Meeting as a virtual meeting on Thursday, March 25, 2021. Registration is complimentary to PRODS and GMEAS members (Program Directors, Associate Program Directors, and Program Coordinators) and invited guests. The recordings linked above must be viewed in advance of the virtual meeting, which will be arranged as a live Q&A and discussion session for the first hour, followed by a moderated open forum on “Unpacking Virtual Recruitment Efforts: What We Learned?” facilitated by Dr. Diane Kowalski, PRODS Council Chair-Elect, and other PRODS Council members.


Title: Southeast Regional Meeting 
Date: Wednesday/Thursday, February 10;11, 2021
Time: 10:00am ET / 9:00am CT / 8:00am MT / 7:00am PT  
Sections: Especially for Southeast Members, but open to all APC members 

Event Recordings: Click here to access the members-only webpage to view and listen to the recording 
Title: APC TOWN HALL: Leading Through Crisis
Date: Friday, January 29, 2021
Time: 1:30pm ET/ 12:30pm CT/ 11:30am MT/ 10:30am PT Duration: 2.5 hours
Sections: Open to all APC/Section members
Event Recording: Click here to access the members-only webpage to view and listen to the recording

Event Description: Sponsored by the APC Senior Fellows Group and the Leadership Development and Diversity Committee. APC members are invited to join this in-depth discussion led by a panel of department leaders with insights on (1) key competencies during high stress times, especially in dealing with the impact on your department, institution, and local community, and (2) personal coping and resilience techniques for dealing with all aspects of high stress of your leadership team, faculty, trainees, and staff.

Panel 1: “Dealing with Crisis: Advice and Key Competencies”
Moderator: David Bailey, MD
Panelists: Geoffrey Baird, MD, PhD; James Crawford, MD, PhD; Barbara Ducatman, MD; Jennifer Hunt, MD

Panel 2: “Dealing with Crisis: Coping and Resilience Approaches”
Moderator: Deborah Powell, MD
Panelists: Mary Furlong, MD; Lydia Howell, MD; Mark Tykocinski, MD


Title: APC SPECIAL TOWN HALL: Intro to Rapid Acceleration of Diagnostics (RADx) Programs (Lab-Based PCR Testing)
Date: Monday, December 14, 2020
Time: 5:00pm ET/ 4:00pm CT/ 3:00pm MT/ 2:00pm PT Duration: 1.5 hours
Sections: Open to all APC/Section members
Event Material: Click here to access the members-only webpage to view and listen to the recording

Event Description: Rapid Acceleration of Diagnostics (RADx) leadership has been in touch with APC about the progress of their initiatives, which are in various states of approval – some more advanced than others. Of the more advanced projects, several have capacity to potentially support academic labs or supplement university testing strategies with PCR diagnostic testing. RADx and APC have arranged to present four in-lab PCR testing options in a Special Town Hall. 


Title: Funds Flow in Academic Pathology: We’re Different!
Date: Friday, December 4, 2020
Time: 3:00pm ET/ 2:00pm CT/ 1:00pm MT/ 12:00pm PT 
Sections: Especially for Chairs and PDAS, but open to all APC/Section members
Event Recording: Click here to access the members-only webpage to view and listen to the recording

Moderator: Michael L. Talbert, MD, Vice Chair at University of Oklahoma 

Event Description: Many institutions have changed their funds flow, are in the process of such a change, or are contemplating fundamental changes in how dollars and other resources flow through their organizations. The process often first focuses on the clinical operations. Education and research may seem to almost be afterthoughts. For a unique and hybrid specialty like pathology, maintenance and growth of these missions may be compromised by changes in funds flow and what these changes engender. In preparation for this virtual discussion group, view in advance the three recordings of different models presented by Chair/Administrator representatives of institutions that have implemented funds flow models (listed below). The moderator will facilitate a question-and-answer session with the panelists, and then encourage audience discussion and reporting on funds flow issues in their institution, first on education and research, then on clinical operations.

Required viewing of three funds flow examples by the panelists:


Title: APC TOWN HALL:  Pathology Leadership of Academic CLIA Labs
Date: Friday, November 13, 2020
Time: 1pm-2:30pm (ET) | 12pm-1:30pm (CT) | 11am-12:30pm (MT) | 10am-11:30am (PT)
Event Recording: Click here to access the members-only webpage to view and listen to the recording

Moderator: Lydia Howell, MD, APC President and Chair, University of California, Davis

Panelists:
  • Ralph Green, MD, PhD, (APC Senior Fellow), University of California, Davis
  • Chen Liu, MD, PhD, Chair at Yale University
  • David Roth, MD, PhD, Chair at the University of Pennsylvania

Event Description: 

Register for an upcoming APC Town Hall to learn and discuss a variety of experiences in dealing with new CLIA-certified labs on university campuses. The emergence of the COVID-19 pandemic has accelerated and amplified concerns for academic pathology and maintaining best practices in the delivery of health care. Join a panel of pathology chairs to discuss:

  • Are “pop-up” CLIA labs in competition with the pathology department?
  • Are research operations familiar with CLIA?
  • What’s the role of non-CLIA assays in surveillance of a population? How can these assays be harmonized within a campus? Who is doing what type of testing?
  • Who has oversight of new CLIA labs? How should concerns with non-pathologists serving as lab directors be addressed?
  • How can the academic pathology laboratory offer innovative testing capacity by working with the hospital and the research community on campus? 

Reference to Dr. Green’s paper on “Blueprint for a pop-up SARS-CoV-2 testing lab” (Nature Biotechnology, 2020). 


Title: Continuing the Discussion of Developing Diverse Leadership
Date: Wednesday, September 16, 2020
Time: 3pm ET / 2pm CT / 1pm MT / 12pm PT
Event Recording: Click here to access the members-only webpage to view and listen to the recording

Featured Speaker:

Vivian Pinn

Vivian Pinn, MD
Senior Scientist Emerita at the NIH, Fogarty International Center
Former Chair, Department of Pathology, Howard University College of Medicine

Event Description:
This 2-hour session will continue and enhance the discussion on diversity and leadership development in pathology departments from the APC 2020 Leadership Development & Diversity Session moderated by Committee Chair, Dani Zander, MD, and featuring Vivian Pinn, MD (Senior Scientist Emerita at the NIH, Fogarty International Center, and former Chair, Department of Pathology, Howard University College of Medicine), with Jiaoti Huang, MD, PhD (Duke University), Jennifer Hunt, MD (University of Florida), Cheryl Hanau, MD (Drexel University) and Amyn Rojiani, MD (Medical College of Georgia at Augusta University). Pre-requisite viewing on Dr. Pinn’s recorded presentation and the panel discussion is essential to pick-up the conversation when you join the discussion session! Open to all APC/Section members.


Title: Effective and Ethical Screening of Residency Applicants
Date: Tuesday, September 1, 2020
Time: 1pm ET / 12pm CT / 11am MT / 10 am PT

Event Description: This 90-minute virtual Discussion Group is co-moderated by Robert Hoffman, MD, PhD (Vanderbilt University Medical Center), and Charles Timmons, MD, PhD (University of Texas Southwestern/Texas Children’s Hospital). Open to all APC/Section members, especially PRODS and GMEAS.
Event Recording: Click here to access the members-only webpage to view and listen to the recording.


Click Here to View Upcoming Discussion Sessions


Past Industry Update Webinars

APC Industry Update Webinars are a new offering promoted to APC membership to keep you up to date on the latest products or services from commercial companies or other organizations. APC does not endorse any products or services in these Industry Updates.

Title: Use Cases for Digital Pathology - Practice and Education 
Date: 
Monday, May 3, 2021
Time:
 
11:00am ET / 10:00am CT / 9:00am MT / 8:00am PT Duration: 1 Hour
Event Recording: Click here to access Corista's Industry Update recording
Featured Speaker:

David C. Wilbur, MD

 

David C. Wilbur, MD
Chief Scientific Officer at Corista  

Event Description: 

The webinar describes the use cases for digital pathology practice and education. With detail focused on the three key learning objectives stated below.

Key Learning Objectives: 

  • Fully implemented digital pathology infrastructure has the ability to streamline workflow across use cases in clinical practice, bringing efficiency and potential accuracy gains.  
  • Educational use case opportunities abound with digital pathology infrastructure in place.  
  • The webinar will detail the infrastructure necessary, the use cases, with examples of how improvements to practice and educational outcomes can accrue.

This virtual event was made possible through sponsorship by Corista


Title: Actionable Intelligence from Pathology Slides to Reports; Images, Information and Insights  
Date: Tuesday, January 19, 2021
Time:
 1pm ET / 12pm CT / 11am MT / 10am PT Duration: 1 Hour
Event Recording: Click here to access Inspirata's Industry Update recording
Featured Speaker:

Mark Lloyd      

Mark Lloyd, PhD, MSM
Executive Vice President & Founder at Inspirata 

Event Description: 

Clinically actionable insights are highly valuable in medicine.  Not only can our images be used for highly valuable analytics, but our pathology reports contain critical components not only for the initial diagnosis, but for many additional downstream applications.  During this webinar Inspirata will discuss using images and structured data from your Final Diagnostic Reports to add value to three key areas of our practice which are specified below in the key learning objectives. 

Key Learning Objectives: 

  • Automated Cancer Registry
  • Clinical Trial Matching
  • Research Projects

This virtual event was made possible through sponsorship by Inspirata 


Title: Recent Developments in the Comprehensive Genomic Profiling and Personalized Treatment of Metastatic Breast Cancer 
Date: Tuesday, November 17, 2020
Time: 
1pm ET / 12pm CT / 11am MT / 10am PT
Event Recording: Click here to access Foundation Medicine's Industry Update recording
Featured Speaker:

Jeffrey S. Ross, M.D.Foundation Medicine

Jeffrey S. Ross, M.D.

Medical Director 

Event Description: 

How comprehensive genomic profiling using both tissue and liquid biopsies is leading to more personalized targeted therapy and immunotherapy for women with clinically advanced and metastatic breast cancer.

Key Learning Objectives: 

  • Familiarize the audience with the genomic characteristics of the 3 major types of advanced breast cancer: ER+/HER2-, HER2+ and triple negative
  • Compare the results of tissue based and blood-based clinical DNA sequencing in patients with advanced breast cancer
  • Demonstrate how new companion diagnostics are driving the use of targeted therapies i.e. the anti-PIK3CA drug alpelisib and immunotherapies i.e. the immune checkpoint inhibitor drug pembrolizumab for cases with tumor mutation burden (TMB) > 10 mutations/Mb.

This virtual event was made possible through sponsorship by Foundation Medicine 


Title: It Pays to Know
Date: Monday, November 2, 2020
Time: 11am ET / 10am CT / 9am MT / 8am PT
Event Recording: Click here to access AAPA's Industry Update recording 

Featured Speakers:

Charlene R Gettings, MS, PA(ASCP)   Marissa K Spencer, MS, PA(ASCP) AAPA Logo

Charlene R Gettings, MS, PA(ASCP), Masters, Pathologists’ Assistant & 
Marissa K Spencer, MS, PA(ASCP), Masters, Pathologists’ Assistant

Event Description: 

This presentation will be a discussion on the knowledge and training of PAs, and how to best utilize them in the training of residents in the gross room and autopsy. As a result of our training, Pathologists’ Assistants are uniquely qualified as experts in gross pathology and autopsy prosecution making them ideal for training and oversight of residents in the gross room, frozen section room, and the autopsy suite - more expertise than a senior resident and more available than an attending pathologist.  Pathologists’ Assistants can cover all elements listed in the ACGME milestones for patient care/grossing. Pathologists’ Assistants can provide all in one training and oversight along with supporting documentation as new residents progress through each specimen type. 

Key Learning Objectives: 

  • PA program studies, level of education, and ASCP certification
  • Ways to best utilize PAs in training of residents
  • Some common gaps in communication/workflow – how to spot them and avoid them

This virtual event was made possible through sponsorship by AAPA


Title: Implementing digital pathology in the US for routine diagnostics
Date: Wednesday, October 21, 2020
Time: 12pm ET / 11am CT / 10am MT / 9am PT
Event Recording: Click here to access Sectra's Industry Update recording 

Featured Speaker:

 David BoissonaultSectra Logo

David BoissonaultBS in Business Management
Business Development - Digital Pathology, Sectra

Event Description:

Sectra will provide an overview of their digital pathology solution which was recently FDA approved for primary diagnostics. Then, listen in as Dr. Thomas Bauer, Pathologist-in-Chief at Hospital for Special Surgery in New York City describes his journey of implementing the Sectra solution into his day to day operations.

Key Learning Objectives:

  • Understand workflow changes and improvements from digital pathology
  • Review the necessary components to have in place for a successful implementation
  • Learning lessons for implementing a digital pathology solution

This virtual event was made possible through sponsorship by Sectra


Title: Streamlining Lab Operations with Data Analytics
Date: Wednesday, October 7, 2020
Time: 1pm ET / 12pm CT / 11am MT / 10am PT
Event Recording: Click here to access Visiun's Industry Update recording

Featured Speaker:

Tim Bickley, Visiun VP of Sales

Tim Bickley, MT(ASCP), MBA, CPHIMS
VP of Sales, Visiun


Visiun

 

 

 

 

 

 

Event Description: This Industry Update will demonstrate how laboratories across the United States are easily accessing and managing their laboratory data.  Strategies will be discussed for how you can improve on areas key to the lab and access the critical data you need now, right at your fingertips. This virtual event will cover analytics in areas key to the lab including:

  • COVID-19 Reporting
  • Turnaround Times
  • Test Utilization
  • Quality
  • QC
  • Productivity/Workflow
  • Blood Bank
  • Anatomic Pathology
  • Peer Comparison
  • and more

This virtual event was made possible through sponsorship by Visiun


 Using Digital Pathology to Enhance Pathology Education

This webinar was made possible through sponsorship by Philips.

Original broadcast on Thursday, February 21, 2019 at 12:00 pm (ET): Click here to view and listen to the recorded broadcast..

Join Douglas J. Hartman, MD, as he shares his experience of using Philips Pathology Education Tutor. Learn how his team is enhancing their pathology teaching and how they have overcome some of the traditional educational limitations with the help of digital pathology. Tutor is not intended for diagnostic, monitoring or therapeutic purposes or in any other manner for regular medical practice.

Douglas J. Hartman, MD (Speaker)
Associate Professor of Pathology, Division of Anatomic Pathology; Associate Director of the Pathology Informatics Division; Director of the Image Analysis Laboratory

 

Click Here to View Upcoming Industry Update Webinars