APC Pathology Leadership Fellows Program

Building on the lessons of APC's Diversity & Inclusion Leadership Program (a mentored micro-incubator for future academic pathology leaders) and APC's Pathology Leadership Academies (live 1- to 2-day small group workshops on fundamental leadership topics), the Leadership Development & Diversity Committee launched the APC Pathology Leadership Fellows (APLF) program to cultivate leadership potential and opportunities by providing experiences and education that accelerate understanding and competency in the skills required for academic administration. In 2021, the APLF program welcomed its first class of 27 outstanding participants.

The Class of 2023-2024 APLF Program Application Period NOW OPEN!


The APLF program is suitable for mid-to-senior level faculty (assistant, preferably associate, professor level faculty) pursuing vice chair, director, chief or chair roles. No more than two participants will be selected from any one APC member department in good standing (current dues paid). 


Application Packages Will Include:

  • Completed application form
  • Current curriculum vitae
  • Letter of commitment from the department chair to support program participation time
  • Letter of recommendation from the department chair or other reference in a high-level leadership role (may be combined with the letter of commitment, if coming from the same department chair)

Application and Decision Timeline:
Application deadline – March 17th, 2023
Applicant notification – March 31st, 2023
Program Cost - $4,250 (billed after notification of acceptance; due by July 1, 2023)

Click Here To View The Informational Flyer!

How To Apply: 

For a preview of the online application, click here to download a PDF of the application for reference only. Applications must be submitted online through the link in the button below. 

Click Here To APPLY NOW!


*The APC Pathology Leadership Fellows (APLF) is a year-long leadership development program. Please visit the Pathology Leadership Academy (PLA) webpage if you are looking for a more condensed leadership program to join. Our PLA is a one and a half day, in-person program to enhance leadership skills. Additional program details, eligibility, and registration can be found on the PLA webpage

APLF Program Fellows 2022-2023

Program content will be posted here (login required) Please contact [email protected] with any questions.

Caroline Abramovich, MD; MetroHealth Medical Center
Hikmat Al Ahmadie, MD; Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
Vijayalakshmi Ananthanarayanan, MBBS, MD; Loyola University Medical Center
Neil Anderson, MD; Washington University School of Medicine
Muhammad Arshad, MD, FCAP; Beaumont Hospital System
Charlene Bierl, MD, PhD; Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania
Jay Brock, BS, MS, PhD, MBA; Akron Children's Hospital
Nicole Cipriani, MD; The University of Chicago
Alejandro Contreras, MD, PhD; M.D. Anderson Cancer Center
Emmanuel Fadeyi, MD; Wake Forest University School of Medicine
Sandeep Gurbuxani, MBBS, PhD; University of Chicago
Yachana Kataria, PhD; Boston University
Madhurima Koka, MD, PhD; University of Maryland School of Medicine
Oleksandr Kryvenko, MD; University of Miami Miller School of Medicine
Angelique Levi, MD; Yale University
Mari Mino-Kenudson, MD; Massachusetts General Hospital
Jennifer Morrissette, PhD; University of Pennsylvania
Evelyn Potochny, DO; Penn State Health Milton S. Hershey Medical Center
Michelle Pramick, MD; Geisinger Health System
Steven Shen, MD, PhD; Houston Methodist Hospital
Michael Thrall, MD; Houston Methodist Houston
Joshua Warrick, MD; Penn State
Sara Wobker, MD, MPH; University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Jianying Zeng, MD; SUNY Downstate Medical Center
Zhongren (David) Zhou, MD PhD; Rutgers University

Past APLF Program Fellows

[Show All]

  • Program content is posted here (login required). Please contact [email protected] with any questions.

  • Nicole Aqui, MD; University of Pennsylvania
  • Kathleen Beavis, AB, MD; University of Chicago
  • Amir Behdad, MD, MBA; Northwestern University
  • Magdalena Czader, MD, PhD; Indiana University School of Medicine
  • Guang Fan, MD, PhD; Oregon Health and Science University
  • Sabina Hajiyeva, MD; Lenox Hill Hospital / Northwell Health
  • Richard Hammer, MD; University of Missouri
  • Benjamin Hinrichs, MD; University of Cincinnati Medical Center
  • Sravankumar Kavuri, MD; Augusta University
  • Ravindra Kolhe, MD, PhD; Augusta University
  • Kristina Matkowskyj, MD, PhD; University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • Lauren McVoy, MD, PhD; Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
  • Kamran Mirza, MD, PhD; Loyola University Health System
  • Gina Murray, MD; East Carolina University Brody School of Medicine
  • Aziza Nassar, MD, MPH, MBA; Mayo Clinic
  • Scott Oakes, MD; University of Chicago
  • Jordan Olson, MD; Geisinger Health System
  • Jo Elle Peterson, MD; The University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center
  • Meredith Pittman, MD, Master of Science in Clinical Investigation; Maimonides Medical Center
  • Charles Quick, MD; University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences
  • Alex Rai, PhD; Columbia University Irving Medical Center
  • Von Samedi, MD, PhD; University of Colorado
  • Reggie Thomasson, MD; Boston Medical Center/Boston University School of Medicine
  • Kathleen Whitney, MD; Montefiore Medical Center
  • Christa Whitney-Miller, MD; University of Rochester
  • Nicole Williams, MD, MBA; Penn State Health Hershey Medical Center
  • Sophia Yohe, MD; University of Minnesota


Contact [email protected]