APC Service AwardsMargaret Grimes Distinguished Achievement Award in Graduate Medical Education

The GME Distinguished Achievement Award honors pathology educators who demonstrate a range of contributions at local, regional, and national levels in graduate medical education. Nominations for the Awards shall be solicited from the AAPath chair membership and from the Residency Program Directors Section (PRODS).

Award Process

  1. Nominations must include three letters of nomination (at least one from an AAPath member and at least one from an individual not at the nominee's institution), and a recent curriculum vitae of the candidate.
  2. In any given year, nomination packages must be submitted through this online form no later than December 31st. Every nominee's candidacy for the award remains active for three consecutive years. Click here to view a PDF preview of the form.
  3. AAPath Council shall review the nominations at Winter Council and solicit the recommendation of the PRODS Section Chair. The GME Award recipient will be selected by AAPath Council and will receive their award during the annual AAPath Meeting.

Nominate a colleague for an APC Service Award

Congratulations to the 2024 Awardee!

Paul N. Staats, MD


Paul N. Staats, MD
Interim Department Chair, University of Maryland


Past Award Recipients

  • 2023 - Scott R. Anderson, MD (photo)
  • 2022 - Richard L. Haspel, MD, PhD (photo)
  • 2021 - Charles Timmons, MD, PhD (photo)
  • 2020 - Robert Hoffman, MD, PhD (photo)
  • 2019 - Wesley Naritoku, MD, PhD (photo)
  • 2018 - Suzanne Powell, MD (photo | tweet)
  • 2017 - Rebecca Johnson, MD (photo | tweet)
  • 2016 - Gayle Winters, MD
  • 2015 - W. Stephen Black-Schaffer, MD
  • 2014 - Jacob J. Steinberg, MD
  • 2013 - Margaret Grimes, MD, MEd
  • 2012 - Betsy Bennett, MD, PhD
  • 2011 - C. Bruce Alexander, MD
  • 2010 - Carol F. Farver, MD