APC Service Awards

Distinguished Service Award in Pathology Department Administration

The Distinguished Service Award in Pathology Department Administration acknowledges commitment and significant contributions to the Academic Pathology Executives Section (APEX) and increases the recognition for, thus demonstrating the value of, Academic Pathology Executives.

Award Process

  1. Criteria: Candidates must have demonstrated extraordinary effort as administrator to the APEX, their Department and to the field of academic pathology administration in general.
  2. Nominations for the APEX Award must include two letters of recommendation substantiating the candidate's exceptional achievement to warrant national recognition by Pathology leadership, and an updated CV/resume of the candidate.
  3. In any given year, nomination packages must be submitted through this online form no later than December 31stClick here to view a PDF preview of the form.
  4. AAPath Council shall review the nominations at Winter Council and solicit the recommendation of APEX Council. The APEX Award recipient will be selected by AAPath Council and will receive their Award during the annual AAPath Meeting.

Nominate a colleague for an APC Service Award

 Congratulations to the 2024 Awardee!

J. Gary Brown 

J. Gary Brown, MA, MBA
Vice Chair of Finance and Administration, University of Colorado


Past Award Recipients

  • 2023 - Susan McCarthy (photo)
  • 2022 - Susan P. Evers (photo)
  • 2021 - Martin Lawlor (photo)
  • 2020 - Beth Hansell (photo)
  • 2019 - Barb Prentiss (photo)
  • 2018 - Nancy Risenhoover (photo | tweet)
  • 2017 - John Baci (photo | tweet)
  • 2016 - Kelley Suskie (photo)
  • 2015 - Martha Miers
  • 2014 - Harry Pukay-Martin