Fellowship Directors Committee (FDC)

In May 2013, the Association for Academic Pathology (AAPath), in cooperation with the Association of Directors of Anatomic and Surgical Pathology (ADASP), created the Fellowship Directors Committee (FDC) for the purpose of further exploring issues in common and serving as a vehicle for communication between programs and the AAPath, as well as other pathology organizations. The FDC is Chaired by Paul Staats. Committee members, representing each subspecialty area, were selected through coordination with relevant specialty societies. Please contact your FDC representative to get involved with your specialty society. The current committee members are listed below.

FDC Representatives 

Subspecialty (per ACGME)FDC Representative:
Blood Banking/Transfusion Medicine David Oh, MD
Chemical Pathology Beverly C. Handy, MD, MS
Clinical Informatics Bruce Levy, MD
Cytopathology Vanda Torous, MD
Dermatopathology Jane Messina, MD
Forensic Pathology Maura Dejoseph, DO
Hematopathology Bachir Alobeid, MD
Medical Microbiology John Branda, MD
Molecular Genetic Pathology Mark Ewalt, MD
Neuropathology Suzanne Powell, MD
Pediatric Pathology Mai (Mike) He, MD, PhD
Selective Pathology Paul Staats, MD


The Fellowship Directors Committee first met face-to-face on July 11, 2013, at the APC Annual Meeting. The committee has quarterly conference calls, interim listserv communication, and meets face-to-face again at the AAPath Annual Meetings. For more information, please contact the AAPath office by email or call 302-660-4940.

Click here for information on the uniform application timeline for fellowships and the fellowship application process.