APC Service AwardsDistinguished Service Award in Graduate Medical Education Administration

The Distinguished Service Award in Graduate Medical Education Administration is presented to a member of the GME Administrators Section (GMEAS) who has shown exemplary engagement and commitment to the field of medical education.

Award Process

  1. Criteria:
    • Candidates must have served as a Pathology Program Administrator for at least 3 years.
    • Candidates must have established leadership and advocacy in GME at an institutional and national level demonstrated by the following:
      • supporting home institution's GME through mentorship or teaching; and
      • supporting GME nationally through work with the ACGME or the GMEAS Council of the AAPath.
    • Candidates must have demonstrated extraordinary effort as administrator to the GMEAS, their Department and to the field of academic pathology administration in general.
  2. Nominations for the GMEAS Award originate from a peer GMEAS member or candidate's home institution Program Director. 
  3. Nomination must include two letters of recommendation substantiating the candidate's characteristics that make him/her unusually effective and how they made a significant positive impact on their program(s). 
  4. In any given year, nomination packages must be submitted through this online form no later than December 31st. Every nominee's candidacy for the award remains active for three consecutive years. Click here to view a PDF preview of the form.
  5. AAPath PRODS Council shall review the nominations and solicit the recommendation of GMEAS Council. The GMEAS Award recipient will be selected by AAPath PRODS Council and will receive their Award during the annual AAPath Meeting.


Nominate a colleague for an APC Service Award

Congratulations to the 2024 Awardees!

Amy J. Bourgeois 
Amy J. Bourgeois, MEd

GME Program Administrator, University of Vermont Medical Center
Beth Smith
Elizabeth (Beth) Smith, C-TAGME
GME Coordinator, Penn State Hershey Medical Center


Past Award Recipients

  • 2023 - Kathleen (Katie) R. Horton, C-TAGME (photo)
  • 2022 - Leah (Ginger) Jozwiak (photo)
  • 2021 - Corrine Freking (photo)
  • 2021 - Ashley Sanders (photo)
  • 2020 - Carol Hollstein (photo)
  • 2020 -  Amy Motta (photo)